“The Wolf’s Paw”

I am a broken wolf.

I have lost all of my teeth.

My fur is all too thin,

and my eyes cannot see.

 

I am a broken wolf,

yet I howl in the night.

I am a broken wolf,  

yet my mouth always smiles.

 

You might have seen

my paws prints in the snow.

They are fragile and weak,

but they are a wolf’s paws.

 

I am a broken wolf,

a wolf whose head is bent.

I know that I am broken.

I show it with all respect.

 

I am a broken wolf,

yet I hunt every night.

I am a broken wolf,

yet my paws can get your eyes.

 

Though I have no more teeth,

I eat all of my grief.

Though my fur is all too thin,

I never shake in the wind.

 

In a cold winters night,

you see my shining blind eyes,

glancing up to the sky,

and my paws make me rise.

 

 

Leave a Reply

